2021-22 Speech and Debate Individual Achievements

First-year (freshman) students

Isa Alvarez Lincoln-Douglas debate 59 NFL points Degree of Merit

Kaylee Woelk Congressional Debate 118 NFL points Degree of Honor NFL emerald key

Madison Lehman 153 Congressional debate, Lincoln-Douglas debate 153 NFL points -- high net points, first-year speaker Degree of Excellence NFL blue sapphire key varsity letter

Sophomores:

Grace Triplett original performance 50 NFL points Degree of Merit

Nico Brenneman-Ochoa Congress, L-D, WSD, international extemporaneous speaking, impromptu, original performance 260 season NFL p0ints (and counting) 548 career NFL points NFL Degree of Special Distinction State speech quarterfinalist -- impromptu Varsity Bethany letter (2) National qualifier -- Lincoln-Douglas debate

Ian McHugh Congress, WSD, Lincoln-Douglas, international extemporaneous speaking, original performance 317 NFL points (and counting) -- High Net Points, veteran speaker (second year in a row getting high net points award) 647 career NFL points NFL Degree of Special Distinction State speech quarterfinalist -- IX All-Northeast Indiana District team Varsity Bethany letter (2) Team captain 2022-2023 National qualifier -- Lincoln-Douglas debate

Junior:

Dylan Diener Congressional and Lincoln-Douglas debate 98 NFL points Degree of Honor Emerald NFL pin

Seniors:

Josh Cartwright Broadcasting Varsity Bethany letter (1) 78 points this year 208 career points Degree of Excellence

Josiah Schlabach Congress, USX, impromptu, theater 216 NFL Points on the season 706 NFL points total Degree of Special Distinction All-Northeast Indiana District team varsity Bethany letter (3)

Jacob Leininger original oratory, impromptu 296 NFL points on the season 1030 NFL points total NFL Degree of Outstanding Distinction State speech tournament quarterfinalist -- original oratory Sixth in the state -- impromptu (first podium finish ever for BC) varsity Bethany letter (4) All-Northeast Indiana District team Academic All-American -- tenth in BC history Team captain -- 2021-2022