Commencement 2023

Bethany Christian Schools celebrated its 69th commencement on Sunday, May 28, 2023, with a class of 34 students. 


Head of School, Tim Lehman, welcomed the graduates, friends, and family to the ceremonies followed by a student invocation given by Senper Solomon, an Ethiopian international student who joined Bethany in the fall of 2022. Memories and hopes for the future were given by student speakers Jessa Caffee and Cameron Heinisch. Dr. Gilberto Pérez, Jr., Goshen City Council member, vice president for student life, and dean of students at Goshen College, gave a heartfelt commencement address. He asked the graduates, “Go and find people who want to do justice, show mercy to others, and want to walk humbly with God, for they will help you find your purpose, passion, and calling.” 


2023 commencement


Senior class officers Ethan Lopez and Rebeka Youngberg presented a gift to Bob Yoder, chair of Bethany’s trustee board, for landscaping in the athletic complex and the future elementary wing. Additional senior class officers include Breece Erickson, Lucca Kauffman, and Samuel Klopfenstein. 


To end the ceremony, class sponsors Josh Weaver and Renae Yoder, with the class officers, presented each gradute with a ceramic mug and white carnation. In memory of Richard Rios, a student from the class who died last year, the same gift was given to his family during the presentation.


2023 commencement


2023 commencement


Students graduating with distinction are the following: 


Magna Cum Laude (A+ average)

Bailee Brown

Cameron Heinisch

Samuel Klopfenstein

Avery Rusel

Kiersten Todd

Rebekah Youngberg


Summa Cum Laude (A average)

Jessa Caffee

Breece Erickson

Kolette Kern

Kaden Paul


Cum Laude (A- average)

Dylan Diener

Gabrielle Miller

Olivia Renze

Jordan Ross Richer

Elena Stutzman


Graduating Class

Aussajan Banchasawan

Paulo Barajas Jr.

Gabriel Clark

Jonathan Fleming

Geoffrey Hochstetler

Lucca Kauffman

Conner Liras

Ethan Lopez

Melony Moreno

Julia Moser

Simon Moshier

Annika Nice

Richard Rios

Gabriel Sanchez Jr.

Senper Solomon

Jeffrey Thomas

Justin Thomas

Kairi Vanest

Marcos Vazquez

Links: Dr. Gilberto Pérez Jr. commencement address - link

Students’ speech - link