Chess Club

Bethany's chess team was restarted in the 1990s by Dan Shenk, co-founder of Goshen's Chess for Scholastic Success, and now is coached by Dennis Monokroussos, a USCF master ranked no. 1 in Indiana. The club is sustained in part by the generous bequest of former member Jeff Bauman ('03).

The team meets weekly throughout the school year for practice and coaching. Members participate in invitational and practice tournaments, the Elkhart County Championship, and Scholastic Chess of Indiana regional and state competitions.The team is open to anyone interested: novices and those already with a USCF rating.

Bethany chess members have won 9 Elkhart County Championships since the event was started in 1987.

Year Name Grade  
1991 Bryan Falcon 12  
1998 Jeff Claassen 9  
2000 Jeff Claassen 11  
2003 Mark Bauman 9  
2004 Mark Bauman 10  
2005 Mark Bauman 11  
2006 Mark Bauman 12  
2011 Adam Krahn 9  
2012 Peter Schrock 12 *Adam Krahn second




Yearly Highlights

click on year for year-end summary.

2012: Peter Schrock ('12) and Adam Krahn ('14) win first and second in the county championship. Tim Cartmel ('18) fifth in the state tournament. Bethany ties for third in the state team tournament.

2011: Adam Krahn ('14) wins the county championships and places fourth in the state individual tournament for grade 9 and under.